From the field of Serenity the field of Mindfulness is born.  God, the Most High, says, “They celebrate His praises right and day, nor do they ever flag or intermit.

Mindfulness involves striving and is of three kinds: being mindful of service, being mindful of the spiritual moment, and being mindful of the inner consciousness.

Being mindful of service is achieved through three things: revering God’s command, knowing the Prophetic tradition, and recognising pretension.

And being mindful of the spiritual and metaphysical moment is achieved through three things: elimination of passion, purification of thought, and being overcome by divine love.

And being mindful of the inner-consciousness is achieved through three things: losing attachment to the world, becoming free from the self, and retiring to God through intimacy.

Stations of the Sufi Path
The One Hundred Fields of Abdullah Ansar of Herat
Tr. Nahid Angha

3 Replies to “Mindfulness”

  1. Eqbal

    Dearest Brother Nawab, thank you so much. So beautiful. What does it mean “recognising pretension”?
    In gratitude, Eqbal

    • Nawab Pasnak Post author

      Yes, dear Eqbal, a very good question. ‘Pretension’ means having a claim, usually without foundation, or affecting some behaviour to impress people. Perhaps the reason it appears here is that, if we wish to really be of service, we must avoid making any show of our goodness or trying to impress people with our holy behaviour.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.